• stats for wordpress

Oh You’re Still Reading This?

Peace. I realize the only time I blog or write is when I’m feeling moved by a moment or person or some extreme of the sort. I need a stimulus and it’s usually an emotional one. This time, I have nothing happen of the sort but just a series of good moments and a really great summer. In fact, I’ll try to capture my mood from the summer on below. Peace,

I rarely have the desire to write and share myself with people who won’t have the pleasure of face to face or phone conversations with me. I don’t know how my words will help someone with their day or improve their outlook. I just write how I feel and much of the content on my blog is about some manner of event that moved those words. I never let my simple and small victories motivate my words. I never simply write from the day to day goodness I experience. I never take my typically pleasant days and chronicle every detail.

I simply think you’d be bored to tears reading about my work day, or my train commute, or the beers I drink, or my minor conversations. I know you read my stuff on Twitter and get bits and pieces of me (all of which I maintain is not an act and all my personality). But I’m never detailed, often vague, and glad for it. I think in the last week, I realized that some people really use blogs and social media to great effect. Yet, I’m annoyed when my loved ones or people who I respect have to let me in on so much. I wish there were more organic ways for us to get to know each other. This constant need to update and report and outwit one another just becomes a chore. It’s a game I’m slowly realizing I’m fading out of.

Oh, you’re still reading this? I wondered if you’d make it this far. I don’t know what you’re here for, why you’re in my life. I don’t know why you follow me on Twitter. I don’t know that if you met me that you would even enjoy my company. I don’t know what I’m doing most of the times and the things I’m good at doing may never benefit you. What do we owe each other? Are we friends? What’s being friends all about for you? What is your motive? What do you want from me?

I seriously ask that. What is so damn interesting about reading about someone living life and all of its ups and down? What are we truly gaining from one another? How are we adding on? I am in no way attempting to pretend I’m a know-it-all but this doesn’t feel healthy. I truly feel a sense of division from this electronic way of conversing and knowing one another. We’re missing so many important things, as we rely on our quick fingers and the glare of the PC screen to shape our personality. We are not using these tools the way I feel we can. We can certainly do better.

Oh you’re still reading? My bad.

Peace,

Wise

2 Responses

  1. Truthfully, I feel exactly how you do when it comes to this social networking thing. I stumbled across you on twitter today, and decided to follow you just because, it seems we are dealing with the same sort of issues. I guess thats one advantage of this this thing called social networking, you ginuinely do come across individuals who are like yourself, or at least remind you of yourself. I don’t like wasting time explaining myself, due to the fact my own personal relationships, over the years have turned a deaf ear, or worse put in great ammounts of effort to shut me up. I feel I do have a lot to say, it just these days I’m looking for individuals who will actually take time to listen, and better yet, care about what is is I have to say. You are a writer, so you do understand the impact of the written word. Even though you may not feel like it at times, you do have an impact on certain individuals. Even if it is only one, that is the joy of writing. Hell, you sure helped me put things into perspective a bit, and confirmed my personal outlook today, and I just wanted to thank you for that.

  2. We are all glimpses of each other. I truly believe that one can find inspiration anywhere and from anyone. As a writer, this is what I cling to. Why do I read your blog? B/c you too are human, a writer, a struggling artists whose never afraid to speak his mind… Why do I keep coming back? To see if there is anything else to make me smile, make wonder or think about the goodness life provides & offers, or to learn more about what makes you tick. Don’t take your presence as an online contributor lightly. Someone is learning from you daily. Trust me on this…

Leave a Reply

